Perfect Palette Tag!

image1Again, I haven’t been tagged to do this, but I always love these kinds of posts. This is all about palettes so obviously I had to do it. I kept this limited to only eye palettes and things that are still available.There are 10 questions and here we go!

Best Packaging

Some people have described which packaging is prettiest or which is the sturdiest and I decided to go somewhere in the middle. I chose the Kat Von D True Romance Palette in Saint. The packaging is black matte tin and is embossed with a really pretty rose pattern. It’s hinged and has a really secure closure on it. It also has a big mirror, good sized eyeshadow pans and a space for an eyeliner.

Best Color Payoff

For this I chose the Lorac Pro Palette. I love all Lorac shadows but this is my favorite and most used. The colors are so pretty and pigmented. You can’t go wrong with this one.

Most Versatile

This was a tough one for me because most (read:all) of my palettes are pretty neutral. So for this I chose the Lorac Pro 2 Palette. There are lots of nice cool tones in here but also some lovely bronzey shades. It also has a beautiful navy and a plum color. There are also an equal amounts of mattes and shimmers in this palette so you really can do any look.

Best for Traveling

This was hard for me because I have so many multi product palettes that I use for travelling. But most of them were limited edition. I decided on the Lorac Pro To Go Palette. Can you tell I have a thing for Lorac? This has all the basics that you need on the go. Three matte shadows, three shimmer shadows (all pretty neutral colors), 2 blushes and a bronzer. Just add foundation, concealer and mascara and you’re good to go.

Biggest Regret

This was hard for me because when I’m going to splurge on something, I really like to do my research and take my time deciding on whether or not I’d use it. My biggest problem is with places like Nordstrom Rack. You can get great products at great prices. I chose two. First is the Lorac Skinny Palette in Plums and the Urban Decay Ammo Palette. For the Lorac Skinny Palette, I also got the nude version and I love that one. But the plum version just doesn’t hold up. I don’t find the quality of the shadows to be on par with the rest of Lorac’s shadows and I just don’t use it. For the Ammo Palette, I think the color variety is great but I just don’t wear a lot of them. The really bright green and blue and purple are shades that i’ve literally never touched other than to swatch them. Also, there aren’t any matte shades so I also need to grab another palette to add to it. At least both of these weren’t too expensive.

Best Color Names

This was easy for me. I think all of the Too-Faced shadows have great names. For example in the Boudoir Eyes Palette you have, Fuzzy Handcuffs, Lap Dance, Birthday Suit and Garter Belt (among others). Very sexy. Also the Chocolate Bar Palette has great dessert themed names as well. Too-Faced, you got it goin’ on.

Least Used

This is a hard one too because I try and give my palettes equal love. But I’d have to say my It Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Matte Volume 1. I love this palette. There are so many beautiful colors and the finish is gorgeous. More of a satin than a matte with a large shimmer highlight. But I just. Never. Use it. But I’m going to use it more. Resolutions!

Most Used

This is easy. Urban Decay Naked Basics 1 & 2. Every time I want to use a pressed pigment or a really shimmery single shadow, I grab one of these. They are very basic but complement any look with the highlight and crease shades. They are great mattes and blend really well. They’re also great on their own if you’re doing a bold lip or just looking for a natural look.

Most Loved

I tried not to pick a repeat but I have to go with the Lorac Pro Palette. I don’t think I need to explain why. It’s just beautiful.

Desert Island

This was tricky. But I think if I had to choose it would be the Urban Decay Naked Palette. The original. It’s really my version of the perfect palette. The shades flatter my eyes really well and they are so pigmented and pretty. It’s got bronze shades, rosey shades, a black, a gray, everything. You can do a subtle daytime look or really smoke it out for night. The packaging isn’t the best but it does have a mirror and comes with a really nice brush as well.

This was really fun! I tag all of you to participate in this tag! What are your perfect palettes?

Leave a Reply

