Gettin’ A New Do: Keratin Treatment

IMG_1930

I’m not sure about where you all are, but NYC in the summer gets very hot and VERY humid. I’m sure all my curly & frizzy haired girls know where I’m going with this. Not too many good hair days on the horizon. So I decided to head over to my friend Sara, a hairstylist, makeup artist, manicurist extraordinaire for a keratin treatment. A keratin treatment isn’t a semi permanent straightening treatment per say. It really helps to relax the frizz and control your texture. I like having the option of curly and straight hair but in the summer, both options get out of control once I step outside in the humidity. This treatment was exactly what I was looking for.

The whole process took about 2 hours total. I went to Sara with clean air dried hair. Just using shampoo (no conditioner or product!! blasphemy…ironically I was having a really good hair day when I decided to get the treatment). She applied the treatment (she used the Peter Coppola system) like a single process color, put a shower cap on (see the fetching photo below) and let it sit for 25 mins. When the time was up, she rinsed it (no shampoo or conditioner), rough dried it with a blow dryer and then thoroughly straightened it (this was the longest part of the process).

IMG_1926

Then you wait at least 24 hours before you wash and style as normal. She encouraged me to use sulfate free shampoo to extend the length of the treatment which can be 3-6 months depending on how often you shampoo and with what. I’ve been using the Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore Sulfate Free Shampoo and I’ve really been liking it so far. It really seems to clean my hair without stripping it. Then I condition, rinse and style as normal. The photo below shows with a little gel and air drying. It’s relaxed my curls a bit and has really cut down on the frizz factor. Exactly what I wanted. Straightening it has also gotten a lot easier as well. I can blow dry it with a brush and I don’t feel the need to go over it with a flat iron.
IMG_1950

Your hair will slowly return to it’s normal state so it doesn’t last forever. It’s also expensive. But for me, it’s totally worth it to have manageable non frizzy hair for the summer. I highly recommend the treatment if you’re looking to cut down on frizz.

A note on Sara. She is the shit. For real. She is the only person I let cut and color my hair. She listens incredibly well and really communicates options and ways to care for your hair type. She’s just great. If you happen to be in NYC (Brooklyn specifically) check her out at Donne Salon. My roomie Dana also wrote up a piece about her on her blog which you can find here.

Have you guys ever done a Keratin Treatment? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

