Another Haul…Go Figure…

IMG_2267

I LOVE a good sale and most brands will have a sale on holidays. Cue the Labor Day sale at Lorac. I knew that I didn’t need any of these items and had talked myself out of them time and time again. But when you get such a great deal, I just couldn’t say no.

First up is the Contour Kit.ย I mean…look at it. It’s just so pretty. This is incredibly pigmented so you just need to use a light hand. The Light Contour shade is perfect for my skin tone and the Yellow Highlight is great for setting your under eye concealer. I can’t imagine getting too much use out of the Deep Contour as a contour shade but it would make a beautiful matte brown eyeshadow. I’m still getting used to the brush. I’ve been using the Real Techniques Contour Brush (part of the Core Collection) which is much less flat and dense. But I do like the precision that the Lorac brush offers. Overall this kit is a great value (especially if you get it on sale!).

I already loved the original Unzipped Palette and I knew I really didn’t need it’s companion palette but again…SALE. The Unzipped Gold really is a beautiful palette. It’s pigmented, blendable, everything that you would expect from a Lorac palette. I would buy it full price for the shade Unleashed which is just the most beautiful bronze-y gold. I will say that many of these shades are dupe-able especially if you have a lot of neutral palettes. But if you’re just getting started or are a palette hoarder (insert raised hands emoji here) this is a really pretty palette.

The Pro Matte Palette has stood out to me for a while but I could never pull the trigger. I figured I had all these shades somewhere in my collection. But I gotta say, I’m so glad I got this. This is a perfect companion palette to something that is all shimmer shadows. It’s got pretty much everything you need to create a subtle everyday matte look or to go all out smokey. The Burgundy color is especially beautiful and makes for a really unique smokey look. Even when it’s not on sale, I think this is a great value. Highly recommend.

Lastly, I ordered the Alter Ego Lipstick in Seductress. But what I got was the Alter Ego Lipgloss in Seductress. I’m not complaining (nor am I going through the hassle of returning it) because it is such a pretty gloss. It’s the perfect ‘my lips but better’ shade and it’s not at all sticky. I’m not normally a gloss person but I really like this one. Happy accident.

I also ordered a few OCC Lip Tars from Sephora. These have recently been repackaged so the original packaging have been going on sale. I’ve heard a lot of great things about the OCC Lip Tars so I was happy to see that I could give them a go at a cheaper price. They are really pretty if not a little bit harder to apply (which is why they repackaged them). The deeper colors I got (Strumpet, a pretty plum berry shade and NSFW, the PERFECT red) apply much better than the lighter shades (Hush, a pinky pale nude and Memento, a coral-y pink). The lighter shades feel a bit slippery and oily and don’t feel like they’re really going to dry down to a matte finish. Maybe I need to shake them up a bit but right now, I’m not a fan. The colors are so pretty though so maybe with the new packaging, they’ll work a bit better. The deep shades though…these are real winners. They go on smooth and opaque and the colors are just beautiful. Perfect for fall and winter. Definitely makes me want to try out some of the other bolder colors.

Have you tried any of the Lip Tars? Shade suggestions? Enable me!

Leave a Reply

