Bobbi Brown: Deluxe Cheek and Eye Palette

FullSizeRender (5)

Bobbi Brown is a brand that has been on my radar since I was about 15 years old. My mom gave me her book Teenage Beauty for Christmas one year and I absolutely loved it. It’s not just about how to apply makeup that’s flattering and age appropriate, but also about self acceptance and confidence. Learning what features you like best about you and enhancing them. She has come out with many other beauty books since then and they’re all on my list. Seems like I’d have a ton of her stuff after being introduced to her at such a young age. False. I’ve NEVER tried a Bobbi Brown product. Until now. Enter the Deluxe Eye and Cheek Palette

Let’s start with the packaging. I’ve always thought that Bobbi Brown had very sleek and luxe packaging. This comes in a shiny lacquer palette with a raised logo on the front. Inside, she shadows and blushes are framed with gold. Very sleek indeed. This set comes with 8 eyeshadows in a mixture of shimmer and matte and 2 blushes; one neutral and the other a bright pink. I love that the blushes slide out from underneath. Makes it all very compact and easy to travel with. The blushes are great. Both are pigmented and shades that I can see myself wearing a lot. Especially the nude shade. The eyeshadows are also very pretty. However, I noticed that while the matte shades are really beautiful and pigmented, it took a little bit of work to get them to show up on the skin (see swatches below). I feel like I’ll have to play around with them a little bit more and try using some setting spray on the brush next time I try them and see if that helps. On the flip side, the shimmer shades can be used to do a sheer wash of color on the lid if you’re not going for something more simple. FullSizeRender (6)

What are your favorite Bobbi Brown products? Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

