Makeup Geek Duochrome Collection

IMG_2333

Makeup Geek, if you haven’t already heard….which I’m sure you have…is a fantastic brand. They have a wide variety of shadows, pigments and, blushes with a variety of finishes as well. When the Duochrome collection was released I was initially unsure of what, if anything I would be purchasing. I like shimmery shadows but I’m not too bold with my colors or finishes. But after watching Kathleen Lights’s swatch video, I knew I had to grab a few…okay MORE than a few.

The swatch photos below are not going to do justice to these shadows. Watch Kathleen’s video (linked above) for a better view. They. Are. Beautiful. Very soft, very easy to blend and the duochome effect is simply stunning. I can’t wait to use the darker shadows to do a fun smoky eye for a night out or an event. I highly recommend picking some of these up to play with.

The pigment can be a bit messy (as pigments can tend to be) but the packaging and the product are really pretty. I love the peachy pink tone of the color (Hologram- orangey-pink base with green and gold reflects). It screams summer to me (even though summer literally just ended…).

Here are the descriptions of the rest of the shadows I got (all descriptions are from the Makeup Geek website):

Mai Tai- apricot base with orchid reflects

Karma- golden base with yellow-green reflects

Ritzy- warm red-brown base with green and gold reflects

Havoc- warm red-brown base with teal reflects

Secret Garden- deep espresso base with bright teal reflects

Steampunk- black base with rich copper reflects

IMG_2334
L to R: Hologram Pigment, Shadows: Mai Tai, Karma,Ritzy, Havoc Top: Secret Garden Bottom: Steampunk
IMG_2335
L to R: Hologram Pigment, Shadows: Mai Tai, Karma, Ritzy, Havoc Top: Secret Garden Bottom: Steampunk

Have you tried any of the new Duochrome products? Which are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

