Hautelook Haul: The Balm Edition

FullSizeRender

Every time the Balm goes up on Hautelook, I go a little cray cray (see last Hautelook/the Balm haul here). But I can’t help it! Pretty much everything that I’ve tried from the Balm I end up loving and I was so excited to add these products to my collection. 

First up is the Nude Dude Palette. I already have the Nude Tude Palette and I really really like it. The Nude Dude Palette has more rosy/pink tones than the original (see the comparison shot below). At first I thought that I wouldn’t like it as much as the OG Nude Tude Palette but I think I actually like it more. The colors are really pretty and can easily do soft daytime looks or get real smoky for evening. The quality is on par with the brand’s other eyeshadows and are super pigmented and blendable. I really like it!

FullSizeRender (7)
Left: Nude Dude Right: Nude Tude

For eyes, I also picked up a Mr. Write Now Eyeliner in the shade Wayne B. Olive. This is a really pretty olive green shade which I’ve never owned. I really like it though. It’s dark enough to not be obvious but still gives a little somethin’ somethin’ to the eyes. It is a little dry and sets really really quickly so there’s not a ton of time to smudge it out. But it stayed on All. Frickin. Day. on me. I’d love to pick up some more shades of these.

I already have 2 of the Balms blushes in Down Boy and Frat Boy and they’re too of my favorites. I’ve always wanted to try one of their Instain Blushes so I picked one up in the shade Argyle which is described as a petal pink. This is a really pretty pink color and I definitely didn’t need yet another blush but…I’m crazy and I love blush. This also stays true to the name and lasts all day. It’s also incredibly pigmented to you need to use a light hand with these. I’m happy with this one.

I also picked up the Balm Desert Bronzer. This is a bit more cool toned (but still warmer than Hoola from Benefit…if that makes sense) so it works well for easy contouring/ warming up the complexion. I love that it’s matte and it also lasts well on me. It’s also a perfect neutral crease shade for the eyes and I’ve enjoyed using it for that as well. I’ve been using this one a lot since I got it and it’s perfect for fall/winter since it isn’t too warm toned.

I’ve only tried one complexion product from the Balm before and it’s the Time Balm Concealer. My previous one broke when I dropped it and I had to toss it. But I really liked it so I bought it again in the shade Light/Medium. This concealer has some anti-aging properties in it which is always nice. It is very thick, so a little goes a long way under the eyes. I’ve also seen Tati from Glam Life Guru use this as an eyebase. Since it’s so pigmented it also works pretty well for covering up blemishes.

I also got the Balm Shelter tinted moisturizer in the shade Light/Medium. I haven’t tried this one out yet so I can’t speak to coverage or wear time. But I tested it on the back of my hand and it seems to be pretty sheer. I like that it has SPF 18 so it’s a nice one step product. I’ve read reviews and overall they seem pretty positive so I look forward to trying this one out.

Lastly, I picked up the Balm Girls Lipstick in the shade Mai Billsbepaid. This is a pinky nude shade and is perfect for my skin tone. It’s nice and moisturizing on the lips and nicely pigmented. I’m kind of wishing I would have gotten another one in a brighter color.

What are your favorite products from the Balm?

Leave a Reply

