Yet Another Palette Haul

FullSizeRender

I seriously can’t stop buying palettes. They are by far my biggest weakness and with the all the holiday releases coming out, I (or at least my wallet) are in big trouble.

FullSizeRender

I had a gift card to Ulta and knew that I’d been wanting to try out the new Anastasia Beverly Hills Self-Made Palette. I have yet to try any of her eyeshadows and this palette really stood out to me. This palette has 14 shadows most of which are shimmer, glitter or satin with 2 being fully matte. Normally that would bother me, not having a true matte transition color but I found the satin shade “sherbet” to work really well and not be too shimmery. The shadows are incredibly pigmented and soft and I’ve really enjoyed playing with this one. Since I usually go for neutral colors, I’m going to try and push myself to wear the bright purple and sea foam green shades. My only problem was that I got an “oops” palette. Mine doesn’t actually include the shade “Self Made”. Instead I got two of the “Hot & Cold” shade. I find returning a perfectly good product to be pointless and after looking up swatches online, I have a few very similar shades in my collection. I’m sorry I can’t show you a swatch of the shadow but I will mention that it’s a warmer, more golden bronze than “Hot & Cold”. Overall, I really like this palette and I can’t believe I haven’t tried more Anastasia shadows before!

IMG_2513
L to R: Sherbet, Witchy, Hot & Cold, Hot & Cold (should be Self-Made), Treasure, Metallic Plum, Deep Purple, Pink Champagne
IMG_2514
L to R: Hot Chocolate, Buttery, Spirit Rock, Blossom, Isla, Blush

The next thing I picked up is an small travel kit from It Cosmetics. This is the Naturally Pretty Must-Haves Eye Set. I’ve only been able to swatch this one but I love the color combos included in this mini palette. The shadow quality and concept is the same as the other previously released naturally pretty palettes with mostly matte shadows and then a shimmer shade which you can use to change the finish of the shadows or as a highlight. This palette doesn’t have any repeats exactly but it does have similar shades when compared to the original Naturally Pretty Palette and the Holiday Celebration Palette. Still, it’s a perfect size for travelling and I’m really looking forward to creating some soft smoky looks with this. It also came with a mini Hello Lashes Mascara. I haven’t tried this yet, but if I love it, I’m sure you’ll hear about it.

IMG_2512
Left to Right: Empower, Brave, Inspire, Naturally Pretty, Believe, Happy, Transforming Hello Light
Leave a Reply

