Drugstore Haul and Reviews

FullSizeRender (14)

I recently put in an order for some brand new drugstore brand products from Ulta’s website. There are SO MANY new drugstore releases and I have to say that they’re really upping their game and I actually really liked all of the things I picked up. Let’s break it down by brand.L’Oreal

The only new thing I picked up from L’Oreal is the new Infallible Pro-Contour Palette in the shade Light. I really like this. The powders blend really well and the contour shade isn’t too warm for my skin tone. The highlight is subtle but still really pretty. I think I’ll really like this for traveling since the bigger palettes can be a bit bulky. This one is a win for me.

Next from L’Oreal are the Infallible Pro-Matte Glosses. I picked up the shades Nude Allude (pink/mauve nude), Statement Nude (brown/pink nude) and Forbidden Kiss (berry). I have really dry lips so I often get frustrated with liquid lipsticks (even though I really do love them) since they’re so drying. These are really nice and creamy and feel very comfortable on the lips. They don’t dry down completely and aren’t 100% transfer proof but, they do last quite a while and the deeper color leaves a little bit of a stain. I really like this formula and I’d like to pick up some more shades.

Maybelline

First up is the Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation in the shade Classic Ivory. I love trying new foundations and get really excited when the drugstore launches something matte (what up my oily skinned people!). I want to try this out a little bit more (I’ve only worn it once) because I’m kind of on the fence about it. It has a nice cooling almost gel cream texture and did give pretty nice coverage. It wasn’t a super flat matte finish either. I’d compare it more to a natural satin finish. But I noticed that it started to fell a bit heavy on my skin and I felt oily. Not great for a matte foundation. But honestly, I think I used too much product. So I want to try again and see how it wears using a little less product and I’ll report back.

The Face Studio Master Fix Setting and Perfecting Powder is really nice. It does include talc which isn’t ideal but it is a drugstore product and is at a nice price point. Not an unexpected quality/ingredient. I found that it felt nice and light on the skin and didn’t come off as cakey under the eyes. I like it.

CoverGirl

CoverGirl released new TruBlend Primers for Oily, Dry and, Combination skin. I think it’s great that they’re trying to create products for all different skin types. I got the Oily Skin version and so far I think it’s nice. Not my favorite but a really good drugstore option. It has more of a lotion texture than a silicone texture which I really do like. I wore this under the Maybelline foundation so I want to try it again under something else before I give a firm yes or no. But so far, so good.

Last but not least are the TruNaked Eyeshadow Palettes. These are DEFINITELY dupes for the Urban Decay Naked Palettes. I chose the “Roses” version since I don’t have too many palettes with that color scheme. I gotta say…I love this. They are really soft and pigmented and creamy.  This wore really well throughout the day (I did use a primer-I have VERY oily eyelids so I always use a primer) and I thought that although there was a little fading and creasing when I went to wash my face, that’s to be expected after 8-10 hours of wear. Not at all what I was expecting from the drugstore. I am so tempted to get the other 2 shades (Goldens– Naked 1 dupe and Nudes– Naked 2 dupe).

FullSizeRender (13)
Left to Right: Dream Velvet foundation in Classic Ivory, Infallible Contour and Higlight, Nude Allude, Statement Nude, Forbidden Kiss
IMG_2659
CoverGirl the Roses Palette

I’m also dying to try the crayon versions of the Maybelline Color Tattoos.

What new products have you tried from the drugstore? Any recommendations?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

