Tarte: Rainforest of the Sea Collection

IMG_2982 (1)

Tarte has been one of my favorite brands for a while now. They always have great packaging and come out with wonderful seasonal sets. Which brings me to this post. I feel like I will buy lipsticks and eyeshadow palettes without waiting for reviews. Sometimes you just know you need something, you know? The packaging of the collection is gorgeous. I love the gold, purple, blue color scheme and there’s a definite water color feel to it.

IMG_2983FullSizeRender (16)

The Rainforest of the Sea Eyeshadow Palette is really REALLY nice. I love tarte shadows but I feel like sometimes they can be a bit hit or miss in terms of formula. These are different than the other shadows I’ve seen from tarte. The texture reminds me a lot of Make Up Forever shadows. They feel very creamy but are definitely a powder.  They all have pretty great pigmentation as well. If you have a ton of neutral eyeshadow palettes I would say you don’t need this one. But if you’re in need of a good basic neutral palette, this is a great option. The brush is sold separately but is a good buy if you don’t have a ton of brushes. I have a few tarte brushes that I love. Again, like the palette, it’s great but not necessary if you already have a lot of brushes.

I also picked up the Drench Lip Splash Lipstick in Cabana Boy and Firework. The colors are beautiful and the formula is super creamy and hydrating while still being matte. These don’t settle into lip lines or feather so it’s a win for me! However, the packaging is a bit deceiving. At first glance it really looks like you’re getting cheated out of product. The photo above on the right is a completely rolled up lipstick. That looks like a sample size product! But when you look at the actual measurement (.085 oz) its not that much less than a normal lipstick. With that said, I think they are a bit overpriced since their Butter Lipsticks are $17 and have .10 oz.

Have you guys tried anything from this collection? I got a sample of the Rainforest of the Sea Water Foundation and I really like it so far! I might have to take the plunge (get it? Water foundation…plunge…nvm…).

One thought on “Tarte: Rainforest of the Sea Collection

Leave a Reply

