Sephora Birthday Haul

img_3930

No time of year is better than your birthday to have a “Treat Yo Self” moment. And boy did I. After all, it was my 30th birthday. Here’s what I decided to splurge on…

First was the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit – Surreal Light Palette. This is gorgeous. Each product is combined with the new powder “Surreal Light” (of which you get the largest amount of product). The packaging is to die for. It’s a matte marble effect which looks so damn classy. As for the product, the blushes, face powder and strobing powder are lovely. It isn’t going to be a highlight for someone who loves to reflect into outer space, but it’s beautiful for a more subtle look. The bronzer is the biggest disappointment for me. The one in the palette I got isn’t very bronze at all. It’s really more of a highlight/ subtle blush. I know that’s a side effect of marbling a product but I wish it was more bronze. Overall, I’m happy to have it in my collection and can’t wait to play with it more.

Next I picked up two cheek products from Tarte, the “Exposed” highlight and the “Seduce” blush. Now, it’s no secret that Tarte blushes are some of my favorites and “Seduce” is no exception. The whole new line of blushes from Tarte are varying shades of nude which I love. And seduce spoke to me as the slightly pink-ier version of exposed. It’s really beautiful and natural. The highlight has become a fast favorite. It’s more reflective than the hourglass version but more subtle than the Anastasia highlights. It’s perfect for everyday. Not too warm or too cool, and with just the right amount of sheen. Love it.

The last few bits were the freebies. First was the birthday gift. You can choose between the Marc Jacobs mini lipstick and eyeliner or the Fresh cleanser and mask. I went with the skincare samples. They’re generous sizes and I’m always on the lookout for a holy grail cleanser.

The last I received by entering the code “MYSURPRISE” at checkout. There were two options of sample bags and the one I chose came with a makeup remover, serum, moisturizers, mascara, eyeliner and lipstick. Most of these are single use or foil packets. That’s fine, I don’t mind that. But I really chose this for the delux samples of the Kat von D tattoo liner in “Mad Max Brown” and the Lancome Mascara. I’m already a huge fan of the black version of the liner and I’ve never tried a Lancome mascara.

Overall, I’m very pleased with everything I got. What have you guys done to “Treat Yo Self” recently?

Leave a Reply

