Project Pan Challenge!

img_4136

If you’re anything like me, you have an overwhelming makeup collection. I’ve come to a point where I have implemented a strict “No Buy” and really want to use all of the makeup that exists in my collection. I found a “13 by Halloween” Challenge here and I’ve decided to modify it for my timeframe. So I’m attempting to pan 15 products by the end of the year. I know it doesn’t rhyme but it seemed reasonable. The list that I found has 60 items of different makeup categories. I inputted those numbers to a random number generator and chose 15 to start with. Here’s what I’ve come up with with some notes about how it’s going (I started about a week ago).

Skincare Item:

I chose my Say Yes to Blueberries Anti Aging Eye Cream. I’ve been using this for quite a while and I have a few other eye creams in my collection that need to be used up. So far I like it. It’s moisturizing and wears well under make up. So far, I haven’t seen an improvement in fine lines, but I think I have to use it for a bit longer and a bit more consistently.

Something Purple:

I am using the Cargo Cosmetics Swimmables Eyeliner Pencil in “Pfeiffer Beach”. This is a lovely eggplant shade which makes wearing a purple shade a bit more easy and neutral. This pencil certainly lives up to the swimmables name as it lasts a really long time. However, I find the texture to be a bit dry.

Lipliner:

For this category, I chose the Charlotte Tilbury Lip Cheat in Pink Venus. While I think this is a nice product, I hate the color. It’s way more pink than I normally wear. The product is creamy and very matte. It lasts a good amount of time on it’s own but I’ve been wearing it with a gloss over top which cuts down the wear time. I will definitely use this up but I don’t think I would repurchase. I don’t wear lip liners that often and definitely not in this color.

A Product You Dislike:

Initially I chose the Jouer Lipgloss in Blush. This gloss came in a set and while it feels nice and isn’t too sticky, I really just didn’t like the color. It was a bit too baby pink for my taste and I don’t think it was too flattering on me. I also noticed that the smell seemed off. I think it had expired so I threw it away. For my replacement “Product I Don’t Like” I chose the Kat Von D Blush in Piaf and Poe. These have been discontinued and I think for good reason. These are very dry and have very little pigmentation. It’s nice for a subtle blush and I think I’ll be able to use it up.

A Drugstore Item:

Initially I chose the NYC Bronzer in Sunny. I love this. But I decided to switch it out for my Rimmel Natural Bronzer in 120 Sunlight. I had already hit pan on this product so I thought it would be easier to use up. I really enjoy this bronzer, it’s not too orange or muddy. I would definitely repurchase this if I weren’t trying to use up the rest of my products.

Something That was a Gift:

The closest I came with this category was something that I got with a gift card. That counts, right? I decided to use the Bare Minerals Ready Blush in the shade The One. This is a beautiful product. I love the satin finish and the buildable coverage. This particular shade is a great neutral pink color that looks very natural on the skin. I don’t think I’ll have any trouble making good use of this.

Something You Would Repurchase/Would Like to Buy a Full Size Of:

I chose 2 foundation samples for this. The Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Water Foundation and the Urban Decay All Nighter Foundation. The Tarte foundation had a really lovely finish, but I don’t think it is suited to an oily complexion like mine. While it was very light on the skin and comfortable, I did get quite shiny during the day and it didn’t last very long. I will not be purchasing a full size of this one. The Urban Decay foundation has incredible coverage. It doesn’t keep me totally matte and feels a bit heavier on the skin than other foundations. However, it looks great on the skin and lasts a good amount of time. While I like this foundation, I’m not sure that I would repurchase it.

Something From an Indie Brand:

I chose the Lunatick Cosmetic Labs Eye Base. I can’t find this on their website anymore which I take to mean it was discontinued? Again, this is a product I like but don’t love. The white color does make shadows stand out more. But it is quite thick and tacky which makes it a bit tricky to blend. It does improve the longevity of my shadow which I appreciate. But I think I prefer something a bit more neutral in tone.

Something New to Your Collection:

The Maybelline Color Jolt in Stripped Down is a new favorite. I’ve been wearing this a ton and it’s a wonderful product. It’s a great dupe for Too Faced Melted Lipstick in Melted Chihuahua. It’s really comfortable and such a pretty neutral shade. I will easily use this one up; it’s great for everyday wear and if I wasn’t on a No-Buy, I would for sure repurchase it!

A Color You Don’t Normally Wear:

I love ColourPop eyeshadows and the shade Telepathy is a bit out of the box for me. I love neutrals and subtle pops of bronze and gold but I never wear something this yellow. I’ve been wearing this paired with the Urban Decay Naked Basics and it’s been working out quite well. It is still louder than I normally go and I haven’t been wearing it every day. I think I should be able to at least hit pan on this by the end of the year.

Chapstick/Lip Balm:

I always have several lip balms on the go but I decided to focus on the Nivea Kiss of Olive Oil and Lemon for the remainder of the year. I love the sent and while the texture of these is a tad waxy it is still very moisturizing. I’m a fan.

Eyeliner:

I went with the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper. This is quite old in my collection. I’m actually impressed that it hasn’t dried out yet. I don’t wear liquid eyeliner that often but I’ve enjoyed using this to draw on a very thin line to plump up my lash line. I really like this; it gets hype for good reason. It’s easy to use and has a great finish. Once I use up more eyeliners, I would definitely repurchase this.

Matte Lip Color:

The Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvets have been sitting in my collection for quite a while. These are very nice products and unfortunately not available in US Drugstores. I got these on a trip to the UK but you can also find them here. These are very lightweight on the lips and aren’t as drying as other liquid lipsticks. They aren’t entirely transfer-proof. But I love how they feel. I chose the shade Nudeist and while I’m not sure I’ll use it up, I’ll defintely make a good dent.

Something that has Been Hyped Up on YouTube:

Most of my hyped products are eyshadow palettes and it doesn’t seem realistic to try and use an entire palette in such a short amount of time. But for oily skin gals (and other skin types as well) the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer is a holy grail item. I have a small sample of this and I like it but I don’t think it’s my holy grail. I have a lot of primers that I like better and I’ll continue to use those when I’m done with this one.

Something You’re Loving Right Now:

I’ve been really loving the Boscia White Charcoal Mattifying Make Up Setting Spray. It feels and smells really nice and spa like and helps to set my make up. I’m not sure about the mattifying properties since I use so many other mattifying products. But I really like it.

Bonus Items:

I also included some bonus items that I had already hit pan on and just want to use up! They are:

Are you guys working on using up your products? What’s your plan of attack on using up your stash?

4 thoughts on “Project Pan Challenge!

  1. I love panning! Good luck with your challenge 😀 Right now a bunch of us are doing the “12 Pans of Christmas” but next year I think I’m just going to do one massive project that I want to run year long. It’s crazy to see how long some products can last! Bronzer for example can last well over a year for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

