December 2016 Boxycharm

fullsizerender-61

I was so impressed with November’s Boxycharm and I couldn’t wait to see if they’d crush it again. I have to say, it did not disappoint. The theme this month was ‘Makeup On Pointe’ which I think is awesome. Based on the colors of the items it seems like they were going for a badass ballerina vibe. Which I appreciate. Here’s what I got:

Pure Cosmetics ‘Buff Collection’ Eyeshadow Palette – $50 value

This is clearly a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. I mean…look at it. The colors are almost exact. However, I don’t think the quality is quite as good as Urban Decay and honestly, I’d rather pay $4 more to get the real Naked 3. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad palette, the shadows are nicely pigmented and pretty colors. However, I noticed that they were very soft. Almost too soft. And this makes them a bit powdery. They’re just not my favorite. While I was excited to get another full size eyeshadow palette, I think including one that is such a direct dupe of a palette that so many people already have kind of disappointed me. However, if you get Boxycharm and do not already have the Naked 3, this will be a welcome surprise. I will be passing this along to a friend.

Thrive Causemetics Brilliant Eye Brightener – $24 value

I was excited to see something from a brand that I had never heard of. This is a crayon type product for highlighting the inner corner and brow bone. The color is a beautiful sheer champagne. The swatch below looks like nothing special but it’s a beautiful inner corner highlight. I also love that this is a brand that is doing some good. For every product you purchase, they donate one to a woman in need. So while the products are expensive, they’re doing good things for women who are less fortunate. I will definitely be checking out more from this brand.

Ofra Cosmetics Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in ‘Napa Valley’ – $19.90 Value

I LOVE Ofra’s Liquid Lipsticks. I think they’re some of the most comfortable on the market and are in great colors. This is from their newer Holiday release and is a deep metallic purple. I have never tried the metallic lip trend and while I honestly thought I’d hate this, I think it’s actually pretty badass. It’s not streaky at all and the metallic is quite subtle. I don’t know where to wear this but I’ma find a reason.

img_4588
Top – Thrive Eye Brightener, Bottom – Ofra “Napa Valley”

Butter London Nail Laquer in ‘Ruby Murray’ – $15 Value

I have never tried a Butter London polish before and I was so excited to see this in my box this month. They’re pretty pricey for a nail polish but I’ve heard great things about the formula. This is a beautiful winter red/berry color. My nails have been bare for a few weeks so I think I’ll paint them just in time for Christmas!

Beauty For Real Lip Revival Sugar Scrub – $14 Value

I thought it was so smart to include a lip scrub in a box that has a matte liquid lipstick. This one smells so good! It has Orange, Vanilla and Cinnamon oils in it so that helps the smell but also helps to moisturize the lips. I also love that the sugar isn’t so gritty or chunky. This one is a win for me.

I really like 4/5 of the products included which I think is pretty fantastic. The total value of the box is $122.90 so for $21/ month, you’re definitely getting more than you pay for.

I’ve been so impressed with Boxycharm so far, I might just have to renew once, my 3 month test is up!

 

One thought on “December 2016 Boxycharm

Leave a Reply

