New at the Drugstore!

fullsizerender-67

I love new releases from drugstore brands! Drugstore brands have really stepped up their game in the past few years. Tons of palettes, contour, highlight, lippies, OH MY! Here’s what I picked up recently and have been trying.

Physicians Formula Butter Blushes in Plum Rose and Natural Glow

After all the hype with the Butter Bronzer (which I absolutely love) the internet was so excited to see that they released blushes in the same line. The size of the pans are smaller (as is to be expected with a blush) and have the same yummy smell. The package is more pink than blue this time around and when I saw the colors online they gave me real Tarte Exposed vibes. Nice and neutral colors that will suit many different looks. These were okay for me. I’m still playing around with them but they are super light and sheer. They won’t work for anyone with a deeper skintone than me. Maybe Natural Glow but only as a highlight. That’s another thing, Natural Glow is a highlight. For sure not a blush. I’m a little bummed about these but I’m going to keep trying since they do seem to build up slightly.

Physicians Formula Matte and Shimmer Contour and Highlight Palettes:

Physicians Formula does powders really well for the most part. These are palettes with 3 shades each. One palette is totally matte and has a highlight, contour and, bronzer. The other is an all shimmer palette with a bright white, soft gold and, deep bronze highlights. These are both very nice. They do kick up a LOT of powder and fallout but if you use a light hand and tap off the excess, you can get a really nice look. The shimmer only has one shade that I’d use as a highlight (the white). The others will make nice eyeshadows but are simply too deep to be a highlight for my skin tone. The packaging is way too bulky. I don’t think it needs to be. I’m going to try and depot these and pop them in a Z-Palette to make it easier.

Revlon Blushes in Rosy Rendezvous and Dare to Bare:Β 

These were the biggest disappointment for me. I love blush and was excited to see that they released some new shades. I have tried one before and liked it. I can’t remember the color but it was sheer and buildable and overall nice for a drugstore blush. These were just sheer. They didn’t build at all and I couldn’t get them to show up on me. They’re super dry in texture. The colors are pretty though and maybe if you’re looking for something super subtle they’d work for you. But I don’t want to have to work that hard to get it to show up. Bummer.

Maybelline Expert Wear Eyeshadow in The Glo Down and Nude Glow:

I heard about the Glo Down from Melissa Alatorre on YouTube. She’s amazing. Check her out. But she found this newly released shade and used it as a highlight and it looked incredible. So obviously I bought it along with Nude Glow and both of these are amazing. They’re super pigmented and metallic and while they’ll make wonderful eyeshadows, they’re even better as highlights. LOVE these.

img_4742
L to R: Nude Glow and the Glo Down

L’Oreal Infallible Lip Paints in Spicy Blush and Nude Star:

I love a new lip release! I also really enjoy L’Oreal lipsticks. These aren’t matte lip paints. I’d compare them to the Too Faced Melted lipsticks or the Maybelline Color Jolts. They don’t dry down and last quite well. These are a bit more glossy than the L’Oreal Matte Glosses. Those dry down to a more satin finish while these stay quite glossy. I know the scent of these is love or hate. I don’t mind it so much. The packaging is super cute and it has a doe foot applicator to make for an easy application. I quite like these. They also came out with some super fun funky colors which is great for a less expensive brand.

img_4725
L to R: Spicy Blush, Nude Star

Rimmel Magnif’eyes Palette in Keep Calm and Wear Gold:

I was SO excited when I saw this. I love when drugstore or affordable brands jump into the palette game. Especially when they’re only $7.99! That is so incredible for a full palette. While this swatched well, unfortunately this didn’t perform the same on the eyes with a brush. I will say the mattes were much better than the shimmers but for me, the pigmentation just wasn’t there and it ended up looking quite muddy on my eyes. Such a bummer because they looked so pretty! Maybe the other palettes (I think they had 2 more color schemes) were better but this one was a bit of a fail for me.

Do you guys have any drugstore recommendations? Anything I should be checking out?

3 thoughts on “New at the Drugstore!

Leave a Reply

