Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Palette Review and Swatches

img_5826

The brand new Subculture Palette from Anastasia Beverly Hills has made quite an entrance in the beauty world. By now, I’m sure you’ve heard all of the drama surrounding the formula and quality of the shadows. There have been videos of users hitting pan on the first use, TONS of powder fall out and lack of blendability. I purchased the palette immediately upon release without waiting for reviews (something I do often). But given how great the Modern Renaissance is along with their single shadows, I didn’t doubt that this one would be great too.

img_5829

Let’s start off with packaging. I think it’s gorgeous. Same size and texture as the Modern Renaissance Palette but this time in a beautiful teal. This also comes with a dual ended brush and a nice sized mirror. Basically it’s the Modern Renaissance but in a different color.

The shade selection screams fall and while I don’t normally go for colors like this, they look muted enough to be subtle and bold enough to be…well…bold. It’s also a nice contrast to the Modern Renaissance and isn’t just a standard neutral palette. I love the shades in here.

img_5831

As you can see from the swatches (all finger swatches btw) these are incredibly pigmented. The two duo-chromes are much more sheer than I would have expected and Cube is the biggest disappointment for me. I would have loved for that to show up more strongly. For matte shadows, these are insanely pigmented and soft with full color payoff after one swipe. They’re pretty much pressed pigments.

In terms of performance, yes, there is a lot of powder kick back when I tap my brush in the shadows. This doesn’t necessarily bother me but it does seem like more than I would expect from the brand. MR does have kick back too, but the Subculture mattes have noticeably more. Stephanie Nicole on YouTube has a great video where she speaks to the formula and why this is happening (or why she suspects it is happening). I’d recommend watching that as she goes into great detail about ingredients and performance.

I didn’t have as hard a time blending as many people have. I feel like I may have gotten a “good batch” (my batch number is P7F20). They don’t blend as easily as other mattes that I have but I didn’t feel like it was impossible. A little goes a long way with these and I think if you’re used to needing to build up mattes and blend them out, this takes one tap into the shadow, dust off the excess and you’ll have more than enough product.

All that being said, I’m not a professional make up artist but I was pleased with the look I came up with on first use. I did feel like it didn’t last as long on my lids which was a bit annoying but not the end of the world.

At the end of the day, I’d try and swatch it in store before buying to see how they feel. Knowing what I know now would I recommend this? I’m kind of at a “meh” right now. I don’t absolutely love it, but I don’t absolutely hate it either.

Have you picked this up yet? What do you think?

One thought on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Palette Review and Swatches

  1. I’m with you. I don’t hate this palette, but it’s just too much work for me. Had they marketed the extreme formula change to begin with I think most people wouldn’t even be upset right now because they would have known NOT to expect these shadows to perform like the MR but more like pressed pigments. I for one wouldn’t have bothered even buying it which would have saved me time and the brand money because now they’re having to cut the loss on my return. The wear time was the straw that broke the camels back for me too 😦 Such a bummer. Thank goodness all the holiday releases are launching soon so we’ll all forget about the Subculture in a week or two πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

